Kansas Gov Bill Graves has been named president and chief executive officer of the American Trucking Associations (ATA). Graves plans to serve out his term as governor and will assume the ATA duties in 2003. William J Canary, who has been serving as interim ATA president and CEO, will take over the position permanently until Graves can step in. David G McCorkle, chairman of McCorkle Truck Line, Oklahoma City OK, has been named ATA chairman.

Kelly W Brown, executive vice-president, Smith Frozen Foods Inc, was elected chairman of the board of the American Frozen Food Institute (AFFI). Robert Brubaker, chairman of the board, president, and chief executive officer, King & Prince Seafood Corp, was elected first vice-chairman. Ricardo Alvarez, president and CEO, Country Pure Foods Inc, was elected second vice-chairman. Rick Jacobson, president and CEO, Norpac Foods Inc, became AFFI's immediate past chairman of the board. AFFI also elected these new members to its board of directors: Larry W Cope, president and CEO, Clear Springs Foods Inc; John T Geocaris, president, Little Lady Foods Inc; Jim Linford, senior vice-president and chief operating officer, Gardenburger Inc; Donald Nugent, CEO, Graceland Fruit Inc; Kevin Ponticelli, executive vice-president, Kraft Foods Inc;Michael E Townsend, president, Townsend Farms Inc; Paul Wagstaff, general manager of Uncrustables, The J M Smucker Co; and Ray Walker, CEO, Patterson Frozen Foods Inc. Board members named to at-large positions on AFFI's Executive Committee are: Angela Cox, senior division counsel, The Minute Maid Co; Stephen Cunliffe, president and general manager, Nestlé USA — Frozen Food Division; and James Munyon, president and COO, J R Simplot Co, Food Group.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.