TCA designates 2017-18 scholarship winners

The Truckload Carriers Association (TCA) Scholarship Fund will be providing financial assistance to 50 undergraduate college students for the 2017-18 academic year. Each student will receive a scholarship ranging from $2,725 to $6,250, from a total pool of approximately $150,000.

Six of the largest scholarships are named after dedicated members, affiliates and past TCA chairmen. The largest scholarship—named after the National Association of Independent Truckers (NAIT) in the amount of $6,250—will be awarded to Dylan Tungate of Louisville KY. Tungate has earned a TCA scholarship in each of the past four years, but this will be his first time receiving the NAIT scholarship.

A senior at Campbellsville University studying Business Administration, Tungate has maintained a 4.0 GPA throughout his college career. He attributes his successes to the work ethic that his father instilled in him.

“As a little kid, I remember my dad getting up early in the morning to go to his job at Hendrickson,” he said. “It has taught me how to be an exceptional student and employee, which includes always showing up on time, completing every task you start and working together as a team. I’ve followed the example he set for me as I grew up, and it has paid off.”

The second-largest award, $4,500, named after John Kaburick, TCA chairman from 2010-2011, will be awarded to Bailey Snow of Lincoln NE. Snow is a sophomore at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln who, like Tungate, is studying Business Administration. She also credits her father with providing a model of how hard work can lead to success.

“My dad thoroughly enjoys going to work, which is both promising and inspiring for me,” she said. “His work ethic and joy for work give me hope that I will one day find a career that I can also enjoy.”

Go to for a list of this year’s winners. This page will also house the online application for next year’s scholarships (available April 2018).

Anyone interested in making a donation to a scholarship in the name of one of TCA’s past chairmen should visit

TAGS: News
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.