WTS announces recognition award winners

WTS International, the association for the professional advancement of women in transportation, has selected the winners of its annual recognition awards for 2016. Each of the six awards will be presented at an awards banquet May 19 during the 2016 WTS Annual Conference in Austin TX. The recognition award winners are:

•WTS Woman of the Year—Therese McMillan, chief planning officer, Los Angeles County MTA

•WTS Member of the Year—Kirsten Bowen, national practice lead for highway design, Michael Baker International

•WTS Honorable Ray LaHood Award—Frederick Salvucci, senior lecturer, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and former Massachusetts Secretary of Transportation

•WTS Employer of the Year—Multnomah County, Oregon

•WTS Rosa Parks Diversity Leadership Award—Sen Karen Spilka, chairperson, Senate Committee on Ways and Means

•WTS Innovative Transportation Solutions Award—Indego Bike Share, Philadelphia PA

Set for May 18-20, 2016, the WTS Annual Conference is WTS International’s flagship event. It attracts hundreds of corporate and governmental industry leaders worldwide, including executives, chief executive officers, government administrators, and engineering authorities.

For more information about the conference and the award winners, go to www.WTSinternational.org.

TAGS: News
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.