WTS announces scholarship winners for 2016

WTS International, the association for the attraction, retention, and professional advancement of women in transportation, has selected the winners of its seven scholarships for 2016. Each of the winners will be recognized at an awards banquet May 19 during the 2016 WTS Annual Conference in Austin TX. Scholarship winners are:

•Miranda Barrus—WTS CH2M Partnership Scholarship

•Kasey St John—WTS Leadership Legacy Scholarship

•Rachel James—WTS Helene Overly Graduate Scholarship

•Liliya Zeigler—WTS Molitoris Leadership Scholarship for Undergraduates

•Rochelle Starrett—WTS Sharon D Banks Memorial Undergraduate Scholarship

•Soshia Tymchek—WTS Junior College Scholarship

•Beth Dibiase—WTS Transportation YOU High School Scholarship

“WTS is proud of these women and the hundreds who have won scholarships awarded by their local WTS chapters,” said Marcia Ferranto, WTS president and chief executive officer. “They have exhibited great commitment to receiving the education they need to enter the transportation industry, which will benefit from these future leaders focused on improving the efficiency, sustainability, and accessibility of transportation. WTS Foundation was created to foster the transportation industry’s workforce through scholarship, research, and education; our scholarship program has been one of its greatest successes, as evidenced by the recipients of scholarship winners past and present.”

The 2016 WTS Annual Conference is scheduled for May 18–20. As the group’s flagship event, it attracts more than 500 corporate and governmental industry leaders worldwide, including executives, CEOs, government administrators, and engineering authorities. For more information about the conference, see www.WTSinternational.org or contact Mary Petto at 202-955-5085.

For more information about each of the scholarship recipients, click here.

TAGS: News
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.