Skip navigation


Winn-Dixie Stores Inc plans to promote Frank Lazaran to chief executive officer and president. Currently chief operating officer of the company, he is scheduled to assume his new positions June 26, 2003, at the beginning of the new fiscal year. At that time, Allen Rowland, currently CEO and president, will retire. Rowland also will resign from the board of directors, and Lazaran will be appointed to fill the vacancy.

Fleming Companies Inc has promoted Bill May to president and chief executive officer of wholesale distribution. He previously was executive vice-president and president — wholesale. In his new role, May also leads the Fleming teams that manage logistics, merchandising and procurement, information technology, services for the IGA and Piggly Wiggly segments, and marketing strategies for grocery wholesale.

Sysco Corp has named William B Day vice-president — supply chain management, a newly created position. He most recently was assistant controller. John G Ehehalt, formerly senior vice-president of sales for Sysco Food Services of Hampton Roads Inc, a Suffolk VA subsidiary, has been appointed executive vice-president of that operation. Kevin G Mangan has been named executive vice-president of Sysco Food Services of San Diego, a Poway CA subsidiary. He previously was senior vice-president of that operation. Howard I Halpern, founder and president of Buckhead Beef Co, has been named chairman of AM Briggs Inc of Washington DC. Timothy K Hussman, president and chief executive officer of Newport Meat Co of Irvine CA, has been appointed chairman of Fulton Provision Co in Portland OR.

Ronald J Forest has been promoted to senior vice-president of Matson Navigation Co Inc from his previous assignment as head of the company's operations division.

CSX Corp has appointed Oscar Munoz executive vice-president and chief financial officer. He joins CSX from AT&T Corp, where he served as chief financial officer and vice-president of AT&T Consumer Services.

Effective June 20, 2003, William P Flies will step down as chairman and chief technology officer of XATA Corp, but he will remain a company director.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.