Skip navigation

ATA names America’s Road Team captains

The American Trucking Associations has named the captains of the 2011-2012 America’s Road Team. This group of million-mile, accident-free professional truck drivers will spend the next two years representing the trucking industry and delivering its highway safety message to motorists.

Eighteen captains, with a collective 483 years behind the wheel and more than 36.5 million accident-free miles, were selected from a group of 34 finalists who competed before a panel of judges from the trucking industry and related fields. The competition included a review of trucking industry expertise and a demonstration of communication skills, combined with community service and lifetime safety records.

ATA created America’s Road Team in 1986. It continues with the support of Volvo Trucks North America. The team represents America’s 3.4 million professional drivers and serves as an example of the professional dedication and teamwork needed to deliver America’s freight safely and on time.

While maintaining their jobs as full-time professional drivers, the new America’s Road Team captains will now travel the country speaking on behalf of the trucking industry to the community, news media and public officials. The captains will address transportation and safety issues, speaking at community events and anywhere they can reach the motoring public to share safe driving tips and offer advice on how to safely share the road with tractor-trailers.

To be nominated to serve as acaptain, candidates must be employed as a company driver or leased owner-operator by a full-dues-paying member of ATA. Each nominee must have an excellent safety record and demonstrate an ability to communicate a commitment to safety and professionalism.

The 2011-2012 America’s Road Team captains are:

•Willie Atkinson, Con-way Freight Inc, Florence SC

•Gary G Babbitt, Central Freight Lines Inc, Irving TX

•Joe Allen Boyd, Wal-Mart Transportation, Mount Crawford VA

•David Boyer, ABF Freight System Inc, Wytheville VA

•Randall Dee Briggs, YRC, West Valley City UT

•Danny Fuller, Con-way Freight Inc, Jonesboro AR

•Samuel Douglas Lee, Old Dominion Freight Line, Greensboro NC

•Alphonso Lewis, YRC, Montgomery AL

•Kenny Lowry, Wal-Mart Transportation, Laurens SC

•Dennis Martin, UPS Freight, Gaffney SC

•Nate McCarty, ABF Freight System Inc, Denver CO

•Tim McElwaney, ABF Freight System Inc, Conley GA

•Roger L Nicholson, UPS Freight, Savannah GA

•J W Ray, Werner Enterprises, Omaha NE

•Dion Saiz, FedEx Freight, Albuquerque NM

•Jeffrey Wade, Southeastern Freight Lines, Summerville SC

•Brooks Washburn, FedEx Freight, Albuquerque NM

•Robert L Weller, Hahn Transportation Inc, New Market MD

For more information, go to

TAGS: Archive
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.