Skip navigation

New officers

The Officers chosen to serve the TCA for the 2008 to 2009 term were sworn in during a ceremony at the association's annual convention. Elected as chairman was Ray Haight, executive director of MacKinnon Transport, Guelph, Ontario, Canada.

The founder of Southwestern Express, Haight first got to know MacKinnon Transport in 1990 when an accounting firm introduced him to one of the company's principals. At that time, the 61-year-old company had an established client base and an excellent reputation for honesty.

Haight merged his company with MacKinnon's, and by 2000 the two companies had become MacKinnon Transport.

Haight became involved with TCA in 1990. He has volunteered his time to the board of directors and the executive, finance, and recruitment and retention committees. He was the chairman of the recruitment and retention committee in 2004 and has served as a TCA officer since 2006.

In December 2002, he was elected chair of the Professional Truck Driver Institute (PTDI), a position he held for the next six years. Under his leadership, PTDI became a completely revitalized organization with greater visibility. (See additional article on p. 30.)

During his year as TCA Chairman, Haight plans to increase TCA's presence in the educational arena. He hopes to create a new learning center that will sponsor studies in areas such as operations, safety, insurance claims management, transportation-related accounting, human resources practices, and administrative structure that trucking companies can use to position themselves for success.

Further, he plans to investigate distance-based learning as a way for TCA members to minimize their time out of the office while still participating in quality training programs.

To assist Haight with his goals for 2008-2009, the following individuals have been elected and will serve as officers until the next TCA Annual Convention:

  • First vice chairman: Kevin Burch, Jet Express, Dayton, Ohio.

  • Second vice chairman: John Kaburick, Earl L Henderson Trucking, Salem, Illinois.

  • Secretary: Robert E Low, Prime, Springfield, Missouri.

  • Treasurer: Christopher Kozak, Willis Shaw Logistics, Elm Springs, Arkansas.

  • Association vice president to ATA: Lance Craig, Craig Transportation, Perrysburg, Ohio.

  • Immediate past chairman: Jim O'Neal, O & S Trucking, Springfield, Missouri.

  • At large officers: Robert R. Baylor, Baylor Trucking, Milan, Indiana; Tom Kretsinger Jr, American Central Transport, Liberty, Missouri; Gary Salisbury, Fikes Truck Line, Hope, Arkansas; and Keith Tuttle, Motor Carrier Service, Northwood, Ohio.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.