Skip navigation

Packerland Transport salutes its drivers' excellence at safety awards events

Packerland Transport was privileged to honor more than 130 of its drivers at recent Driver Safety Awards events held at four locations across the nation.

Milton Schwahn was recognized for accumulating four million safe miles during his 35 years with Packerland. He will receive a special ring, which he helped design, to commemorate this achievement. Schwahn was also named the Packerland Transport Safe Driver of the Year for 2007, and this marks the second consecutive year he has won this award.

Among other drivers honored were Oscar Hubbard, Robert Lamothe, David Lemens, and Donald Mouford, who each accumulated one million safe miles. In addition, Timothy Hall and Jose Ortiz were recognized for accumulating 10 Safe Years, as well as Timothy Moyer for 30 Safe Years. Each received awards from Packerland and the National Safety Council.

At a recent safety awards event, Packerland announced that Robert Styczynski, Wayne Meyer, and Larry Nohr will be the first three individuals to be inducted into a newly created Driver Hall of Fame. These drivers each accumulated more than 3 Million Safe Miles while consistently exhibiting the highest qualities of a professional truck driver.

To enter the Driver Hall of Fame, a driver must have accumulated at least 3 Million Safe Miles as a Packerland driver, and be a Packerland retiree to be nominated. Selection criteria will not only include safety achievements, but also the work record and character of the nominee.

A special induction ceremony is planned for May 2008.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.