IARW, WFLO elect officers, board members

New officers and board members of the International Association of Refrigerated Warehouses (IARW) and the World Food Logistics Organization (WFLO), an education and research foundation affiliated with IARW, were elected at the 122nd IARW-WFLO Convention & Expo. This event was held in Hollywood FL recently.

Doug Thomas, president and chief executive officer of Bellingham Cold Storage Company in Bellingham WA, was elected as 2013-2014 chairman of the IARW board of directors. Other new IARW officers elected for the coming year were Vice Chairman Terry Brown (president, Diversified Port Holdings LLC) and Treasurer Tom Poe (president, Crystal Distribution Services Inc).

New directors-at-large members elected to serve three-year terms on the IARW board include: Luis Jorba (Frialsa Frigorificos) and Brian Kyle (Burris Logistics). Janice Scott (Commercial Cold Storage) was elected to represent the North Pacific Chapter; Barry Smith (Nova Cold Storage) was elected to represent the North Atlantic Chapter. Derk Van Mackelenbergh (Eurofrigo) was elected to represent the European Cold Storage and Logistics Association.

Bill Hendricksen, CEO of Lineage Logistics in Colton CA, was elected as 2013-2014 chairman of WFLO board of governors. Other new WFLO officers elected were Vice Chairman Frank Plant (manager, San Diego Refrigerated Services Inc) and Greg Brandt (president and CEO, Nor-Am Cold Storage Inc).

New members elected to serve three-year terms on the WFLO board include Mike Bolander (Columbia Colstor), Paul Henningsen (Henningsen Cold Storage), Steve Tippmann (Interstate Warehousing), and Lourens de Waal (Commercial Cold Storage Group).

Fabio Fonseca (Friozem Armazens Frigorificos) was re-elected to a three-year term on the WFLO board.

In addition, Mike Jahncke, PhD, was appointed chairman of the WFLO Scientific Advisory Council (SAC). As chairman of SAC, Jahncke also serves as a public member of the WFLO board of governors. Daryl Lund, PhD, who was chairman of the SAC for 25 years, has announced his retirement.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.