GeoSpace Labs recently launched the Official Florida Intrastate FMCSA Registered Electronic Logging Device (ELD).
The company said the new tool is an easy, low-cost means for drivers and companies to comply with the Florida FS 316.302 regulation. Free versions are available in the Android and Apple stores so users can test the product and practice using the system prior to the Jan 1, 2020 requirement.
“Florida recently adopted the FCMSA’s regulations for using electronic logging devices to report on a truck’s compliance with the intrastate hours of service rules,” said David Lady, GeoSpace Labs CEO. “If this sounds new, it is. Florida is only the second state after Texas to require commercial truck drivers to comply with reporting requirements for travel solely within the state’s boundaries.”
What are the rules? There are four, according to GeoSpace Labs:
- Drivers may drive 12 hours after 10 consecutive hours off duty.
- Translation: A driver can drive for 12 straight hours (ie Miami to Pensacola) after they have had 10 hours of rest.
- Drivers may not drive after 16th hour after coming on duty, following 10 consecutive hours off duty.
- Translation: A person cannot work more than 16 consecutive hours, even if they have not driven the maximum 12 hours allowed. The 16 hours includes all drive time and any stops for lunch or bathroom breaks.
- Drivers may not drive after 70/80 hours on duty in 7/8 consecutive days. 34 consecutive hours off constitutes end of 7/8 day period.
- Translation: A driver is allowed to work for 70 hours over a 7 day period or 80 hours over an 8 day period if they also comply with the other hours-of-service rules regarding drive time. After the 70- or 80-hour mark, a driver must have 34 hours off duty to reset the 70- or 80-hour work window.
- Drivers who do not exceed a 150-air-mile radius and have no placarded hazardous materials are exempt from maintaining a log book. Drivers not released from duty within 12 hours must document driving time.
- Translation: Drivers who travel within 150 air miles (about 172 statute), do not carry hazardous materials and operate less than 12 consecutive hours are not required to maintain a log book.
The Florida ELD is especially designed to manage the intrastate rules and has special tools created for Florida. It is available at roughly half the cost of traditional ELD systems, at $10 per month, because of the specific limited Florida scope, GeoSpace said.
More information about the Florida Intrastate rules, and the Florida ELD product, are available at flaeld.com.
For more information, visit geospacelabs.com.