Nominate a noteworthy Woman in Produce

Held each year in conjunction with the United Fresh convention, the Reception Honoring Women in Produce recognizes contributions of all women working in the produce industry, and selects one individual to share their personal experience of service. This year marks the 20th anniversary of this special event.

The honoree is selected from nominations submitted by United Fresh members across the industry. Nominations are evaluated based on the candidate’s involvement in the industry, contributions to the industry and inspiration for others working in the industry.

“This reception is one of the most inspirational events at our convention, and I’m honored to have been present for each ceremony over the past 20 years,” said Tom Stenzel, United Fresh president and CEO. “Celebrating the contributions from all women in our industry is the focus of this gathering, and I invite everyone to join me at the 20th annual Reception Honoring Women in Produce in Chicago.”

The 2017 honoree will join a distinguished group of women including:

•Dan’l Mackey Almy, DMA Solutions Inc

•Tonya Antle, Tanimura & Antle

•Frieda Caplan, Frieda’s Inc

•Karen Caplan, Frieda’s Inc

•Margaret D’Arrigo, Taylor Farms Inc

•Jan DeLyser, California Avocado Commission

•Jan Fleming, Strube Celery & Vegetable Company

•Janice Honigberg, Sun Belle Inc

•Lorri Koster, Mann Packing Company

•Julie Krivanek, Krivanek Consulting Inc

•Kathleen Nave, California Table Grape Commission

•Lisa McNeece Miceli, Grimmway Enterprises Inc

•Teri Miller, The Fresh Market

•Dr Martha Rhodes-Roberts, Roberts Associates

•Steffanie Smith, Andrew Smith Company

•Heather Shavey, Costco Wholesale

•Mayda Sotomayor-Kirk, Seald Sweet/Greenyard USA

•Rosemary Talley, Talley Farms

•Jenney Tenney, The Kroger Company

Nominations for the 2017 honoree are being accepted until April 28, 2017. Tickets for the Reception Honoring Women in Produce are required, and are included in the United Fresh 2017 All Access Package. Go to to register for the event.

To nominate an individual, click here.

TAGS: Produce News
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.